Night Rounds by Helene Tursten

night roundsGuess what: I still really like Scandi Crime! It’s been a busy year, and I haven’t really read much crime fiction because what I was picking up was stressing me out. So I decided to dig through my wish list on my library account and picked up a Tursten novel I haven’t read yet, book 2 in the Irene Huss series. I loved reading a good, smart procedural instead of an unreliable-narrator type of crime novel that’s hard to avoid lately.

Night Rounds is the story of a ghost nurse who allegedly committed murder in a private hospital on the brink of financial disaster in Göteborg. It’s a story that involves family drama and work drama at the hospital in question so it kept me interested because the motive for the killings wasn’t obvious from the beginning. And it was nice to read a procedural that was methodical and full of interviews with a series of characters that kept my interest. And finally, it was nice to read a book with a tidy ending.

A few random thoughts:

  • I’m ready for a book centered on Ms. Strikner, the pathologist.
  • It’s nice to read a book with a detective with a messy but not entirely dysfunctional homelife.
  • I may be wrong about the tidy ending. There’s an epilogue to the book that may just be creepy or ominous for the sake of being ominous, or it could mean that my misgivings about some other characters who aren’t being prosecuted for murder are in another book.

I’ve only read two other books in the series: the first installment, which is Detective Inspector Huss, and The Fire Dance. I loved the first and not the other, and I recommend this installment highly.

 

Night Rounds by Helene Tursten, translation by Laura A. Wideburg

Irene Huss series book 2

Originally published as Nattrond, 1999

Soho Crime, 2012

Source: I checked it out from the library.


Posted

in

, ,

by

Tags:

Comments

4 responses to “Night Rounds by Helene Tursten”

  1. Margot Kinberg Avatar
    Margot Kinberg

    I’m very glad to hear you liked this one, Rebecca. And I’m with you about the sort of character Irene Huss is. I like the fact that she and her home life are, well, normal: a bit messy, but functional, etc… And you’re right; the police procedural part of this series is well done.

    1. Rebecca Avatar

      Thanks for stopping by, Margot. I’m glad your a fan of the series too. Enjoy your weekend!

  2. tracybham Avatar
    tracybham

    I am glad you liked this book, Rebecca. This is the next one I have to read in this series, so it was nice to have a reminder to push it up on the TBR piles.

  3. Sarah Avatar

    This is definitely my favourite Tursten. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a comment