The Snowman by Jo Nesbø

snowmanThe Snowman by Jo Nesbø, translated by Don Bartlett
Knopf, 2011
Originally published as Snømannen (2007)
Harry Hole book 7
I bought my copy of the book.

After a few detours to the shorter, stand-alone stuff Nesbø has published in the last year or so, I’m finally back to the Harry Hole series for the very strong entry The Snowman. I understand why Nesbo wants to branch out: it’s a bit ridiculous how much danger Hole and his loved ones and colleagues can be exposed to during the course of the series, and it’s got to be draining to plot out something as intricate as The Snowman. Focusing on novellas including new characters has to be refreshing.

But back to the book at hand: it’s a very thrilling thriller, though I’m not enamored of serial killers generally. I was surprised almost the whole way through– I could predict maybe two twists, but that’s pretty good. I think I liked this installment in the series because Hole wasn’t on so completely a downward spiral and because there was some unexpectedly humane treatment by the police department, which is not something I expect in this series where police corruption has been a common theme. The theme of fatherhood and father figures was also a nice break from the more action-packed parts of the novel as well.

I like this series the great deal, and I think it’s impossible for me to pick a favorite. Part of it is because I tend to read them in quick gulps so even if parts of a book are not my favorite storyline, I read through it so quickly that the parts I like stick in my mind more.

 


Posted

in

, ,

by

Tags:

Comments

10 responses to “The Snowman by Jo Nesbø”

  1. Margot Kinberg Avatar
    Margot Kinberg

    I’m not much for the serial killer plot either, Rebecca. Still, Harry is a great character, and this series does have some solid twists. Glad you liked this one.

    1. Rebecca Avatar

      I’ve heard mixed things about the last books in the series, which makes me a little sad, but I think Nesbo could write another great series!

  2. MarinaSofia Avatar

    This was the first Nesbo I ever read – and I was scared out of my wits… Who’d have thought snowmen could become sinister?

    1. Rebecca Avatar

      Creepier than clowns, I know!

  3. tracybham Avatar

    I am sure I say this every time I read a review of a Nesbo book. I have got to catch up on that series. I have only read the first one but I have all the books up to The Snowman.

    1. Rebecca Avatar

      His books are addictive, Tracy. Have a good weekend!

  4. Peggy Ann Avatar

    This is the only one I’ve read of his and I did love it. I have a couple more on the shelf. I need to get to them!

    1. Rebecca Avatar

      Enjoy, Peggy! I seem to go on a Nesbo kick every summer.

  5. Kathy D. Avatar
    Kathy D.

    I must read more of Harry Hole’s adventures. I’ve only read two of them, and thought that Nemesis was one of the best thrillers I have ever read — constant developments without stopping. I felt like I was on a mental roller coaster. And the mental chess playing with the Roma prisoner was brilliant. Not the usual mystery at all.

    1. Rebecca Avatar

      I like the Holes more than the standalones, but I admit I haven’t read the first two that came before The Redbreast. I’ve heard mixed reviews and I’m happy to start with something so stellar instead, you know. Hope you have a good reading month, Kathy.

Leave a comment