Miscellaneous

My Version of Armchair BEA

I follow Book Expo from afar, not in any organized Armchair BEA group, but by following Twitter when I get a chance during the work week. I like reading live-tweets from interesting sounding sessions at BEA and lots of crime fiction fests. I like adding books to my list to investigate. But I don’t miss the crowds and the scrum of people scrambling for galleys. I like browsing for books, either in an actual bookstore or library or by reading blogs/social media/ whatever else strikes my fancy online: I don’t like books because I put a lot of effort into acquiring them. And how many of the people hustling for galleys actually really adore the book they scrambled to get? I’m sure some do, but the exertion seems a bit much. I’d love to see more posts in book blogs about what super-publicized books actually stuck with readers. I suspect it’s only a handful a year, if that. I’m advocating more reading, less time scrambling for books.

Signed,

A slightly curmudgeonly book blogger

 

 

6 thoughts on “My Version of Armchair BEA

  1. Interesting take on that. I have never had the opportunity to go to Book Expo, but I do have librarian friends who have and I used to work for a publisher for many years (academic titles), so I have heard about it. Since I don’t usually read newly released books until they have been out for a while, I probably would not want to accumulate a lot of books there either. Mostly, I don’t go for any events with lots of people and noise, regardless of the theme.

    1. I’m glad I’m not alone, Tracy. If I were to go, I think I’d spend more time at the panels and a few author signings than trying to hit all kinds of galley drops. I like reading older books too: I tend to go on a new book run for awhile before settling back on old favorites. Hope you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

