review, Uncategorized

On Second Thought by Kristan Higgins

I heard about Kristan Higgins from Pop Culture Happy Hour, and since reading one of her recent books I was interested in reviewing what she did next. Marketing wise, the book  seems to be part romance/ part women’s fiction, and I liked it a great deal.

The book description makes it seem like the story relies more on the concept than the characters, but Higgins excels at making her characters real, psychologically at least. On Second Thought is the story of two sisters, or actually half-sisters, one on the brink of becoming engaged and one who becomes a widow at her sister’s presumed engagement party. Kate, the older sister, hadn’t been married long, is mired in grief and conflicted because she didn’t know her husband as well as some of his friends and his family members knew him. Ainsley, the younger sister, on the other hand, is at the end of an 11 year relationship that she believed was headed to marriage, and she’s a bit adrift professionally and personally as the story begins.

This is the second Higgins book I’ve read and the second to take place on an upstate town on the Hudson, it’s also the second book to feature two sisters. It seems like a bit of an aspirational lifestyle kind of setting, but with characters with believable characters. It doesn’t feel as rushed as some books feel, especially with this dramatic a storyline. And what I loved most is that Higgins for the most part makes her characters real.

on-second-thought

On Second Thought by Kristan Higgins

Harlequin, January 2017

Disclosure: I received a review copy from the publisher.

4 thoughts on “On Second Thought by Kristan Higgins”

  1. Hmm….not usually my sort of book at all, Rebecca. But good writing is good writing, and I do respect that. Authenticity in characters matters a lot to me, so it’s good to hear that you though these characters were well drawn.

  2. Oh I love Pop Culture happy Hour. I’m a recent fan, though, so I must have missed the Higgins talk. This one sounds sad from what you’ve described, but I’m glad that you felt the characters were real. I don’t have to agree with or like my characters, but I do want their actions and thoughts to feel believable.

    1. Hooray for PCHH, right?! I tend to binge old episodes because I’m never up to date on TV/movies, and that’s where I found a small batch episode on romances. Hope you enjoy, Laila.

Leave a Reply

