Miscellaneous

What I’m Reading This Week

2016 is the year I became a reader who reads lots of books at the same time and tends to forget to post about them on the blog. This post is my attempt to check in a bit more frequently about what’s going on with my reading.

First, I finished Münster’s Case, also published as The Unlucky Lottery and Münster’s Fall, by Håkan Nesser, translated by Laurie Thompson. While I really, really liked the first three books in the series, this particular entry left me a little cold. It might be because I felt like I figured out the crime way ahead of the characters, but I think it was also because Münster wasn’t as compelling a lead character as Van Veeteren. VV spends the book working at an antiquarian bookshop while officially on leave from the police force, while he does consult with Münster for a bit.

Next, I read Masters of Sex by Thomas Maier, which is the basis for the Showtime series. I’ve only seen season 1, which focuses on the start of Masters and Johnson’s research, and that section of the book was the most vivid for me. The issue I had with the biography is that once Masters and Johnson become famous, their work and their relationship seem to fall apart, and ultimately Maier doesn’t have too many theories about why Masters in particular was such a difficult-to-know person. It’s hard to stay interested in a guy that enigmatic, I think.

Finally, I just started the 10th entry in Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events, The Slippery Slope, both because I’ve been reading them with my oldest daughter for the last year and because the Netflix series dropped today. They are exciting read-alouds, and, as my daughter likes to tell me, they are chock full of conflict. I think we have similar reading tastes.

Happy reading!

 

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading This Week”

  1. You’ve been having quite a reading week, Rebecca. I’m sorry to hear that The Unlucky Lottery didn’t work as well for you. I agree that Van Veeteren’s absence does make a difference. And I love it that you’re reading with your daughter 🙂

Leave a Reply

