Favorites

My Favorite Reads of 2016

My favorite reads of 2016 are not all crime fiction. I got a little bored with some of my favorite crime authors so spent quite a bit of time reading widely, and I found some good stuff.

  1. Until They Wrath Be Past by Asa Larsson was my favorite crime novel, by far. I like the smart heroines, I like the set-up of young divers drowned in a frozen lake, and I like the tone of these books. I read somewhere that Larsson expects this to be a 7 book series, and I eagerly await the final 2 books.
  2. Bury Your Dead by Louise Penny was a book I admired a great deal structurally: the story of Gamache’s crisis that led him to retreat to Montreal one bitterly cold winter was well-done. And it was nice to see the imperfections of that character.
  3. In Twenty Years by Allison Winn Scotch was a very good story about friends from college reuniting for the 20th class reunion. I liked it not only because I was the target audience, but I think Scotch did a great job making the entire cast of characters believable, which is quite a trick in a novel that alternates points-of-view.
  4. How to Be a Person in the World by Heather Havrilesky is the book I will keep giving as a gift. It’s a collection of existential advice columns that are so great I keep rereading them.
  5. H is for Hawk by Helen Fielding. This was a great memoir about grief and goshawks, and I highly recommend the audio read by the author. It was the most beautifully written book I read/listened to this year.
6 thoughts on “My Favorite Reads of 2016”

  1. It’s always good to ‘stretch’ yourself by reading more widely, I think, Rebecca. And I’m glad you found some excellent reads. I have to agree with you about the Larson and the Penny – both such talented writers, and those are excellent stories.

  2. Looks like I need to get a book by Asa Larsson. I have read three of the Louise Penny so I will probably get to Bury the Dead someday. In Twenty Years sounds good but I am definitely not the target audience.

  3. I thought Under Thy Wrath Be Past was Asa Larsson’s best book in her series. Only book I’ve read in which I didn’t mind a ghostly presence. Very well-done.

Leave a Reply

