Quick thoughts

What I’m Reading this Week

Okay, I have my crime-fiction reading mojo back since I started Until Thy Wrath is Past by Åsa Larsson. The opening section told from the perspective of a woman dying under a frozen river? lake? was so well done and gripping. I can’t wait to finish this book, and it’s been a few weeks since I said that. Unfortunately it looks like this is the last Rebecka Martinsson book for me, and in my research I don’t see any crime novels on the horizon for her. I did, however, discover this:

  • ÅSA LARSSON, INGELA KORSELL, AND HENRIK JONSSON are the creators behind the bestselling middle grade series PAX, an exhilarating urban fantasy epos in ten parts, set in a fresh new world of magical creatures drawn from Nordic mythology.

Next, I read my first Kristan Higgins novel, If You Only Knew, which I think is the best book in the women’s fiction category I’ve read this year. It’s the story of two sisters dealing with relationship drama and their childhoods, but the switching between sisters’s viewpoints and shifts in time weren’t jarring. It didn’t feel too short or too long, she rounded out her characters very well, and the plot, while not incredibly twisty definitely kept moving.

Finally, I finished reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone out loud this weekend, and what struck me most is that there is not much plot in such a long book. It was about 200 pages of setting the scene for the rest of the series followed by 100 pages of a bit of an adventure. I think I read the first two or three books at once so I didn’t remember the details too much, but I’m not sure I would have been so into the books if I had had to wait so long as they were published.

It’s our second snowy day this fall here in Michigan, and I think I’ll have some hot cocoa while I read a bit more. I have to get a little chill time before work and Thanksgiving prep for the rest of the week.

 

4 thoughts on “What I’m Reading this Week”

  1. I’m so glad you got your reading mojo back, Rebecca. And I like the fact that you’re reading different kinds of things. I often think that sort of variety is key to feeling better about reading. I like the Larsson series, myself, very much. If you haven’t read the rest of the series,

  2. Until Thy Wrath Be Passed is the only credible book with a ghost that I really liked. Very well-written and interesting plot and characters. Asa Larsson’s best book so far, in my view.

Leave a Reply

