Quick thoughts

The Wire in the Blood by Val McDermid

wire in the bloodI’m in the middle of The Wire in the Blood, which was published in 1997, and a few things come to mind:

  1. I keep squawking about the technology: dial-up modems! no mobile phones! Crime-solving has changed in such a short amount of time. The plot of the book would be entirely different in the era of smartphones with GPS and tracking.
  2. This must be in the first wave of profiler books, after, of course, The Silence of the Lambs. It’s amazing how many other profiler books/movies/tv shows have come out since this book was published. And I somehow never watched the adaptation of this book.
  3. The cover art for this book is a little on the nose. I mean, I expected a creepy book without the vise on the cover.

So far, this book is more disturbing than what I usually read, but I can’t stop reading. McDermid knows how to pace this book.

13 thoughts on “The Wire in the Blood by Val McDermid

      1. That’s the one book of hers that I read and enjoyed very much. I was told to stay away from her series books but may just give them a try….

  1. I did read this book, about 10 years ago. I am the opposite, I love mysteries without cellphones and modern technology. That is possibly one of the reasons I read less contemporary mysteries. But I did not enjoy this one because of the graphic torture scenes. I did finish it and I agree, she writes very well, keeps the reader involved.

    I could not bring myself to read another one though. We also watched at least two of the episodes of the TV adaptation. The actors were great, the show was good, but neither one of us enjoyed the subject matter.

    1. I’ve only read three in this series because they are very dark, but I never saw the show probably because I’d seen enough serial killer shows/movies already. I know you read leCarre, which I think sounds like a good switch.

  2. I loved the early books in this series but eventually felt that poor Tony and Carol had suffered enough after about the sixth book! I also enjoyed the early TV shows though somehow I can read about gruesome things more easily than I can watch them. Yes, I’m not sure all the new technology works very well in crime fiction – one reason I find myself turning more to older books these days, I think.

  3. I generally don’t like thrillers where we get into the killer’s head, but Val McDermid really drew me in. Robson Green in the TV series was incredible. His Tony was not at all the man I had seen in my mind’s eye while reading the series, but his acting was so arresting that I have tried to watch all his other TV efforts–like Grantchester, where he has a way different role, but also still has his signature intensity.

    1. Patty- One of my sisters is a huge fan of the series so I’ve been aware of it for ages but haven’t watched it yet. Somehow I read a lot more crime series than I watch 🙂

    1. I’ve read a bunch of the Vik/Stubo series by Anne Holt, which is what immediately comes to mind, but I think the profiler character is in a lot more tv series I’ve watched than books I’ve read.

Leave a Reply

