Canada · review

The Brutal Telling by Louise Penny

brutal tellingI didn’t love this 5th installment in the Three Pines/ Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penny. It’s a story about a murder where the suspect is one of the village residents and he or she remains so. There is a bit of an open ending (appealing a conviction or sentence), but that’s not a real surprise to me.

This book felt longer than the other installments. Certain things started annoying me. 1. Penny uses a lot of sentence fragments. A lot; 2. The artists that populate the slightly mythical village of Three Pines and its environs are almost all genius level artists. And Gamache is a genius level detective, which would be okay if the narrator or various characters didn’t continually remind us of the fact. It’s okay to make Three Pines a less-than-realistic place (it has an awfully high body count, for one thing) populated with regular folks or regular artists; 3. The puzzle element of the mystery felt off to me. I’m not usually into puzzles: it’s just not something I’ve ever read a lot of. Was it an homage to some other book or to some other device that I just missed?

Ultimately what it came down to is that this book wasn’t as pacy or twisty as I tend to like the most, and the fact that I’m well into the series made it feel a little stale to me. That’s not to say I totally didn’t enjoy it, but I felt myself prickling about certain things that I usually don’t mind.

Source: I bought my copy of the book.

8 thoughts on “The Brutal Telling by Louise Penny

  1. It’s interesting, isn’t it, Rebecca, how even in a series we like, one or another entry might not exactly sweep us away. I’ve had that happen, too. I have to admit I’m a big fan of this series, so I forgive Penny things I wouldn’t normally forgive from other authors.

      1. I have read the first three in this series, thus have one more before I get to this one. I haven’t had a lot of success with this series. I did not like the first one, especially. I did like the 2nd one much better. And the third one I liked the 2nd half, but not the first half. But I haven’t given up on them yet. So many readers and reviewers do like them a lot.

  2. I didn’t love this 5th installment in the Three Pines/ Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penny.

    Aaargh! I haven’t read anything by Penny yet but, because of all the rave reviews of her work, bought this one a while ago and have had it sitting on my nightstand ever since. Hm: it’s a big chunk of book, and if you and now Tracy have your doubts . . .

    1. I don’t like lots of books on the cozy side so I may not be the best judge. I’m so behind in the series that I don’t know which ones stand out for her biggest fans, you know.

      1. I don’t like lots of books on the cozy side

        Oh! I’d assumed from the book’s title — The Brootle Telling — that this was going to be a hardboiled exercise, and it’s easy enough to read the blurb that way. Your explanation has made me a bit more likely to read the book. I’m no great cozy fan either, but sometimes it’s just what’s needed.

  3. Tracy: I know, her books keep on winning awards, and I know lots of people who are huge fans. I really liked the first but have only sort of liked the rest, and I think it ultimately comes down to my preference for thrillers (which can also be unrealistic like Three Pines, but I’m more entertained along the way or something).

  4. I both enjoyed and was frustrated by The Brutal Telling. I enjoyed the character development of the village residents and Gamache’s probing of their lives. At the same time, having lived my life in rural Canada, I could not accept an unknown hermit living only a short walk from the village.

    I do not worry about body counts in villages or we would never have series set outside big cities. I approach each book in a rural series as a new murder.

    It is best to read Bury Your Dead, the next in the series, to really understand this book. Bury Your Dead was my top fiction read for 2011.

Leave a Reply

