review

Reading Slowly

I seem to be in the middle of a few books at a time lately, which is not my usual reading mode. It also means that I don’t finish books very quickly because I’m hopping from book to book. Here are a few quick thoughts.

one step behindI had no idea Wallander ever tracked down a serial killer. One Step Behind wasn’t my favorite in the series just because of the serial killer plot. And the thriller-y chase happened quite late in the book, which made the first two-thirds drag.

journalist murdererI also tried Janet Malcolm’s The Journalist and the Murderer, which is a story about the ethics of journalists and their subjects. It’s about the relationship between Joe McGinniss, a journalist interviewing and embedded with McDonald, a man accused of murder, and his legal defense team, and the book he eventually writes about the case. I admit that I don’t gravitate towards true crime or journalism stories, but the first half of this short book were interesting. Ultimately, I gave up after that because I wasn’t invested in Joe McGinniss’s legal troubles.

smileFinally, Raina Telgemeier’s Smile was so incredibly charming. It’s a graphic novel memoir about orthodontia and growing up. For the last several months it’s the non-crime books that I like the most.

2 thoughts on “Reading Slowly”

  1. I think it makes sense to take a break from one kind of novel for a bit, Rebecca. And I know what you mean about having a slower time reading. And your comment about the Malcolm made me remember just how important it is that the reader care about the characters. If you don’t care about them, you aren’t invested in the story.

    1. Thanks, Margot. I’ve been too distracted to read in long stretches, which I think is making me pickier, but I hope to find something I adore soon!

Leave a Reply

