Uncategorized

Catching Up Again

I’ve been reading a few different kinds of novels lately, but no one book has grabbed me enough to want to write a whole post about.

I tried my first Josephine Tey, A Shilling for Candles, this week, and it didn’t win me over. The ending seemed a little out of left field and I lost the thread of the story halfway through when I stopped reading it for a few days. The characters are vivid, but vapid actors and their hangers-on, a religious fanatic, and a tabloid reporter are all characters I’ve read before. Erica Burgoyne, the constable’s daughter who works her way into the investigation, seemed pretty original though. I have a complete set of Josephine Tey so I have more to try.

What I’ve been reading instead of mysteries requiring my utmost attention is memoirs (less of a narrative thread, I think). I just finished the weep-inducing audio of The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe about his mother and their reading endeavors as she went through cancer treatments and now I’m reading the somehow lighter and wryer Disaster Preparedness by Heather Havrilesky about growing up anxious in the 1970s and 1980s while her parents divorced. I’ve liked her stuff for ages: funny, smart, and emotionally affecting as well.

It’s not all murder and gloom in my reading life lately, though: there’s lots of Lemony Snicket and other entertaining kids’ books in my reading diet since my oldest daughter started getting interested in non-picture books. I’m still reading and listening to lots of books lately but my energy for blogging in depth about it isn’t there right now.

 

6 thoughts on “Catching Up Again

  1. I always like the idea of reading diverse kinds of books, Rebecca; I think it keeps one ‘fresh’ as a reader. Sorry to hear you were left unimpressed with the Tey you read/ If you ever decide to try her again, may I suggest Miss Pym Disposes? It may not be your sort of thing, but I think it’s a good example of her work. So is The Daughter of Time. In any case, I’m glad you’re finding different things to read.

  2. Maybe you will enjoy the non-Inspector Grant mysteries by Tey more, Rebecca. And there is variety within the Inspector Grant series, so others may appeal more.

    I have (and want to read) The End of Your Life Book Club, although I don’t know how it will agree with me since I neither of my parents is still living.

    And it is a lovely time when you can enjoy children’s books with your children. We still have many of the children’s books we bought for my son (or for ourselves).

    1. Thanks for the recommendation, Tracy: good to know she didn’t write the same kind of story over and over.

      And I agree that sharing books with your kids is great 🙂

Leave a Reply

