audio · nonfiction

My First Audiobook in Ages: Columbine by Dave Cullen

columbine

I started giving audiobooks a try at the end of December. A book ten years in the making by an investigative journalist from the Denver area doesn’t quite sound like festive reading, or listening, but I was fascinated by the book and I didn’t mind speeding up the narration a bit on my phone to make it pass a bit more quickly. My general problem with nonfiction is that I lose my attention span after awhile. Audio helped me with that problem because I could focus for a set amount of time, speed up the narration a bit if I wanted, and generally not get bogged down as I do with print nonfiction.

But on to the book: Columbine has been on my TBR list for quite some time. I knew that it uncovered a few myths perpetuated by the media about the school shooting and the school shooters, but I didn’t know much else going in. It was a fascinating story about just how wrong the wall-to-wall media coverage was about the killers as well as the martyr Cassie Bernall. It was fascinating to follow people like Fusilier, the FBI agent who was a hostage negotiator and who became an expert on psychopaths. The psychological profiling of psychopaths in Columbine was more in-depth than anything I’ve found in fiction about psychopaths. I didn’t care as much for all the excerpts of the murderer’s websites, videos, and diaries, and I think that was because it felt repetitive.

One thing I left the book with is not missing cable television and local news. I watch bits and pieces of breaking news events, but I don’t read nearly as much or watch as much as I used to. Now I don’t think I’m missing much except predetermined narratives, as the book explained in stark relief.

This book did not make me an audio convert or a nonfiction audio convert, but I think I’ll try a few more audio books just to add a bit of variety. Recommendations welcome!

*****************************

Columbine by Dave Cullen

Blackstone Audio, March 2010

I borrowed this book from the library.

 

2 thoughts on “My First Audiobook in Ages: Columbine by Dave Cullen

  1. I’m headed that way, to cutting off satellite TV. I reviewed my viewing habits and I watch my share of movies but most of the time, it’s Netflix I watch the most. Media is just too powerful, we’re in the midst of watching their work during the political campaign season and they still can’t see how they influence the electoral process*SMH*

    Back on topic, Anderson Cooper rec this book several years ago on Twitter and I bought it immediately. I’ll make time to read it this year for sure. Thanks for the review.

    1. I cut the cord a few years ago but still got over-the-air channels when I lived in a major metro area. Now that we’re in the middle of the state, it’s all streaming, which is fine, but I know I miss out on some news because the headlines don’t grab me. Campaign-wise, that’s a blessing!

      Look forward to your thoughts on Columbine, and AC’s as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

