Ireland, review

Can Anybody Help Me? by Sinéad Crowley

can anybody help meCan Anybody Help Me? by Sinéad Crowley

Quercus, July 2015

Book 1 of Claire Boyd trilogy

Disclosure: I received a review copy from the publisher.

I’ve been trying out quite a few new-to-me authors who are female in the past year, and I’ve specifically taken on old and new writers who write domestic suspense. I liked this book particularly because I liked the lead detective, Guard Claire Boyle, who is quite pregnant during the course of the novel.

Can Anybody Help Me? is a book about a series of murders committed against fellow members of an online parenting and pregnancy support group site netmammy. This particular brand of domestic suspense is quite claustrophobic or laced with a touch of post-partum depression with a number of characters navigating the world of new parenthood. I found the book to be a brisk read:  the parenting forums are quite familiar and feel real, there are a reasonable number of plot twists, and though I had a short list of suspects, it was still an enjoyable read.

Other reviews appear in Reviewing the Evidence and Crime Thriller Girl.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Can Anybody Help Me? by Sinéad Crowley”

  1. Sounds interesting. I don’t usually read books when they are first published, but I think I have read more 2015 books this year so far than usual.

    1. I read some new books, but I seem to be doing more catching up for titles that have come out in the last few years. Your blog helps me keep my reading list more varied with all of your reviews of older books: thanks!

  2. I’ve been hunting for this book for ages, will keep looking around for it. Glad you liked it.
    I want to read more Irish women authors besides Tana French.

    1. I haven’t read Tana French in awhile after seeing several mixed reviews of her most recent two, I think. When she’s good, she’s great, and then I’m disappointed when the next book is just good. Does that make sense at all?

Leave a Reply

