USA Fiction Challenge

USA Fiction Challenge: Year-End Update

I’m approaching the USA Fiction Challenge as a a perpetual one, and I’m pleasantly surprised that I’ve read books set in 7 states during the year.

  1. Colorado- The Possibilities by Kaui Hart Hemmings. This story is more of a family drama/character study than what I usually read.
  2. Maryland- After I’m Gone by Laura Lippman. Lippman imagines the effect of a mobster’s disappearance on his family over the decades in Baltimore.
  3. Pennsylvania- Save Yourself by Kelly Braffet. A story about a guilty pair of brothers in small-town Pennsylvania.
  4. Michigan- Anatomy of a Murder by Robert Traver. A story of a murder and murder trial in small-town Michigan.
  5. Minnesota- Only the Dead by Vidar Vidar Sundstøl. An exciting hunt for a suspected criminal in the woods in northern Minnesota.
  6. Massachusetts- Long May She Reign by Ellen Emerson White. The very satisfying conclusion of the President’s Daughter series where Meg leaves for college after recovering from her kidnapping.
  7. Iowa- Some Luck by Jane Smiley. The first book of a proposed trilogy covering the last 100 years covers a generation or so who lived on a farm in rural Iowa.

I didn’t realize the majority of my books took place in small towns, but I’m sure I’ll balance it out with more urban books as I read books from the East and West coasts.

Next year my goal is 10!

12 thoughts on “USA Fiction Challenge: Year-End Update”

  1. I just recently assessed which states I had read books from since I started the USA challenge, and I came up with only six. (Now you have inspired me to actually list them.) Two of the states were California and New York and there were multiples for those states I think. I hope to do better this year. I was amazed at how many non-US reading authors and locales I covered in my reading this last year. I do hope to hit more states next year. And I hope that Anatomy of a Murder is one of the books I read in 2015.

    1. I hope you like the Traver, Tracy, and congratulations for reading books from/about such a variety of places as well! Somehow I didn’t read any NY or CA books, which is an oddity.Sometime I should track how many books are set in fictional countries and states: I’m sure it would be a significant amount.

  2. Not sure how many I covered as I lost track……still we have the rest of our lives to get there!
    All the best for 2015 for you and yours Rebecca,

  3. Nicely done, Rebecca. Must book pimp Donald Harstad’s Eleven Days for anyone else who needs Iowa or want to revisit. Just a thought. Setting is a small town as well.

Leave a Reply

