2014 Global Reading Challenge, USA Fiction Challenge

Reading Plans for 2014

Every six months or so I like to check in with my reading and posting plans for the blog, so here are my thoughts:

  • I’m joining the 2014 Global Reading Challenge at the easy level (one book from each continent), and I’ll try to read from as many countries as I can throughout the year, regardless of the continent. I’ve added a countries visited page to keep track of how diverse my reading is by setting. Now I need to get to updating the page.
  • I’m also joining the 2014 USA Fiction Challenge, and I’ve added a states visited page to track my progress over the coming years. My main goal for this challenge is to read books that don’t take place in New York and California.
  • My two reading challenges for the year are perpetual challenges for me because I’d like to add a bit more flexibility to my reading choices than I had last year. I’d like to return to some favorite authors I’ve discovered since I started blogging and reading crime blogs, I’d like to dig into my own bookshelves a bit more, and, like I mentioned last summer, I really want to read more books published for 2000.

So what can you expect over the next few months? Lots of translated crime novels, the occasional non-crime novel because I’m getting a bit burned out by crime reading, some authors I first read in 2012, and nothing too noir.

20 thoughts on “Reading Plans for 2014”

  1. Nothing too noir?? What fun is that? 🙂 I hear you on the burn out and wouldn’t mind seeing some non-crime fiction titles.

    Good luck to you reaching your reading goals this year, Rebecca. I look forward to your reviews.

    1. Thanks, Keishon. I’m just not ready for something too grim right now: it could be because it’s the middle of winter or it could be because I just wept my way through The Fault Is In Our Stars. I’m sure I’ll pull out of this funk as soon as I find something good 🙂

      1. I was just teasing you but The Fault in Our Stars – yeah, I heard that one was a tough read (emotionally). I have it but not sure when I want to read it.

  2. Rebecca – Thanks for sharing your plans. I think challenges like that can really broaden people’s horizons. I think it helps shake off too much routine too. I’ll be really interested in your reviews.

    1. Thanks, Margot. I’m looking forward to digging around for good books from around the US because there are so many states I haven’t covered. The easy way to do it is to start at the beginning of the Anna Pigeon series, but I’m looking for some new-to-me authors too.

  3. Good luck with your challenges Rebecca. I love challenges although I haven’t always seen them through in the past, so this year I am probably only going to commit to some sort of to be read pile challenge as I really want to read more of the books that I already own. I hope you enjoy your crime and non crime reads too.

    1. Thanks, Lindsay, and good luck with your own TBR challenge. I’m trying to alternate between my own books and review or library copies, and in these first weeks of the year I’m on track. Happy reading to you as well.

    1. Thanks! I’m feeling less pressure because I’ve decided to make these big geographical challenges a multi-year proposition, and I do have some non-crime reads picked out for a little variety as well. I think reading older stuff will help too.

  4. I’m not doing many challenges this year kinnas African reading challenge only one I’m signed up for global reading well I do that I want try a couple more arabic novels this year than last

    1. I look forward to your reviews, Stu. I haven’t read much from Africa, crime or non-crime, but I am planning on digging into King Leopold’s Ghost soon. What are your favorite Arabic novels?

  5. Sounds like a great year, Rebecca. I am cutting back in my challenges a bit this year, wanting to relax about the reading more. I enjoyed all that I read last year, I just need to take it easier on myself.

    1. Good luck, Tracy! The vintage mystery challenge sounds pretty interesting to me, but I don’t want to sign up for too many challenges either. I look forward to your reviews this year.

  6. Good luck with your challenges! I might join you in the Global Reading challenge – I’ve read a couple of books set in Australia and one I can think of off hand in India, but other than that it’s been pretty much Europe and North America – time to broaden those horizons, I think!

  7. Sounds good. I did the global reading challenge for 3 years, twice at the expert level. Although my TBR lists are huge, I’m not going to be stressed nor see this year’s reading as a college course or contest. I’m going to read leisurely and what I want to read and see dvd’s, too.
    My one goal is to read books from the stacks around me.
    I’m reading John Grisham’s newest book Sycamore Row, and it’s at my pace.

    1. Good luck, Kathy. I’m working on clearing my own shelves as well, and I’ve found some good surprises that I’d forgotten I’d bought. I do have an awful lot of Swedish stuff to read though, so I’m glad I’m trying to branch out a little.

Leave a Reply

