Crime Fiction Pick of the Month

August Reading Update

August was a bit of a slow blogging month for me because of going on vacation, preparing to move, and just finishing Donna Tartt’s The Secret History. Here’s a summary of the books I reviewed for the blog:

1. Bad Blood by Arne Dahl- The second installment in the Intercrime series did not live up to Misterioso for me. Some serial killer stories don’t work for me.

2. The Land of Dreams by Vidar Sundstøl,- A moody book about the murder of a Norwegian on vacation on the North Shore of Lake Superior and the history of the area. It’s the first book in Sundstøl’s Minnesota Trilogy.

3. The Maid’s Version by Daniel Woodrell- This is a beautifully written story about a fire caused by an explosion at a dance hall in a small town in Missouri during the Great Depression.

My favorite book by far is The Maid’s Version by Daniel Woodrell.

maids version

Please check out Kerrie’s collection of Crime Fiction Picks of the Month at Mysteries in Paradise.

8 thoughts on “August Reading Update”

    1. Thanks, Margot. I am pretty happy with the quality of books I’ve read lately, and thanks for the good wishes about the impending move. It’s an exciting but busy time.

  1. Interesting books there. I haven’t read anything by those authors and I especially want to try Woodrell. I have not even heard of Vidar Sundstøl. I must have missed your review. I will go check it out now.

    1. My posting schedule has slowed down the last couple months: it’s easy to miss the sporadic posts 🙂 Anyway, I hope to read more quickly this month. After my book purge this summer in preparing to move, I think it’s time to conquer the books gathering dust on my Kindle. There’s some stuff I bought last Christmas I haven’t even looked at.

Leave a Reply

