Crime Fiction Pick of the Month

My June Reading Summary

It’s halfway through the year, and I’m happy with what I’ve read this month and this half of the year. I’m grateful to the bloggers I read for steering me to such interesting picks. Three of this month’s books were very good (Hill, Vargas and Holt), and my favorite is The Summer of Dead Toys by Antonio Hill.

summer dead toys

1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

2. Black Star Nairobi by Mukoma Wa Ngugi

3. The Execution of Noa P. Singleton by Elizabeth L. Silver

4. More Bitter Than Death by Camilla Grebe and Åsa Träff, translated by Paul Norlen

5. The Summer of Dead Toys by Antonio Hill, translated by Laura McGoughlin

6. Death of the Demon by Anne Holt, translated by Anne Bruce

7. The Ghost Riders of Ordebec by Fred Vargas, translated by Siân Reynolds

16 thoughts on “My June Reading Summary

  1. Like Margot, my first thought was what a wonderfully wide selection of reading you have there, especially in terms of nationality and genre. This is what I’d like my reading to look like every month!

    I’m intrigued by Noa – it sounds something a little different and I think I’ll give it a go.

  2. This is a good list. I loved The Ghost Riders of Ordebec, the only book I’ve read listed here, but the Anne Holt book is on my TBR pile and I have yet to get Antonio Hill’s book but think I will.
    Salvation of a Saint and The Devotion of Suspect X are both unusual by a Japanese author.
    Australian books: There are so many good writers it’s a plethora of riches. I have not read a bad one yet.

    1. Thanks for the suggestions, Kathy. I picked up The Devotion of Suspect X in the spring but I haven’t gotten to it yet, and I’m eager to read Frantic by Katherine Howell too. Crime bloggers keep me reshuffling my TBR shelves!

  3. A very international reading list, as usual. Maybe mine will look more like that next year. I am trying to sprinkle in a few this year too.

    1. The Global Reading Challenge is keeping me on an international track this year, and I’m trying to catch up on some series that I’ve begun in the last year or two too.

Leave a Reply

