Crime Fiction Pick of the Month

May Reading and Crime Fiction Pick of the Month

I like doing monthly recap posts because I’m always surprised by something, whether it be patterns in my reading or whether my opinion of a book has changed between my review and this monthly recap. This month, I realize that I like reading classic crime, and I want to read at least one older book per month. Here’s a list of the books I reviewed for the blog in May:

  1. Blessed Are Those Who Thirst by Anne Holt– This is a very strong entry in the Hanne Wilhelmsen series: a short novel about a string of violent crimes during a hot summer.
  2. Total Chaos by Jean-Claude Izzo– The first book in the Marseille Trilogy paints a very bleak picture of life and crime in that city.
  3. The Stranger by Camilla Läckberg– I’m new to this series, and I was struck by how much Läckberg focused on the characters’ personal lives at the expense of the crime.
  4. Inspector Imanishi Investigates by Seichō Matsumoto– Very good novel written over 50 years ago showcasing a hopeless case with a quite interesting ending.
  5. The Redeemer by Jo Nesbø– I loved this entry in the Harry Hole series.
  6. Summer Death by Mons Kallentoft– And I ended my month’s reviews with another book about a string of crimes during a hot summer. I’m interested in checking out the other books in the series because I like the main character, Malin Fors.

This month, I’m happily surprised at the quality of the books I read. Three of the six books I read were very, very good, and my favorite is (unsurprisingly) The Redeemer by Jo Nesbø.

redeemer

Please check out Kerrie’s blog for a compilation of other bloggers’ crime fiction picks of the month.

8 thoughts on “May Reading and Crime Fiction Pick of the Month

  1. Rebecca – I like classic crime novels too. Yes, they certainly have their drawbacks but they are the foundation of today’s novels. I think it’s good to know something about them. Besides, some are superb stories. Glad you enjoyed The Redeemer.

  2. Ah, yes, The Redeemer is one of my favourites in the Harry Hole series. And I really liked the Marseille Trilogy, despite its rather bleak portrayal of life, crime and corruption in the Mediterranean. In fact, I love all your books this month! I do agree with you that it’s wonderful to alternate with some classic crime – I don’t seem to make enough time for that and I regret it.

    1. I’m looking forward to reading some short classic crime too, Marina Sofia. I’ve been bogged down in a few books with 400+ pages lately. I hope to get back to Izzo too.

  3. A great list, Rebecca. And totally international. I have read something by half of those authors, and hope to get to the other three someday.

Leave a Reply

