Crime Fiction Pick of the Month

Crime Fiction Pick of the Month- February 2013

I’m pretty happy with all the crime novels I reviewed this month, which is a rare occurrence.  Here’s a brief recap for the month:

  • A Cold and Lonely Place by Sara J. Henry- Second in a series about freelance journalist Troy Chance in upstate New York. Okay read.
  • The Devil’s Star by Jo Nesbø- Not my favorite Nesbo, but I’m a fan of the series overall.
  • Guilt by Jonathan Kellerman- I’m a longtime reader of this series, and this was a good but not great addition.
  • Needle in a Haystack by Ernesto Mallo- It’s about Argentina under the military junta, where the police are asked not to investigate murders committed by the military.
  • The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths- Ruth Galloway is my favorite character I read about this month.

My favorite book by far this month is Needle in a Haystack, and I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Sweet Money.

needle in a haystack

Please visit Mysteries in Paradise for a collection of Crime Fiction Picks of the Month.

10 thoughts on “Crime Fiction Pick of the Month- February 2013”

  1. Rebecca – It’s good to hear you didn’t run into any ‘dud’ books. And I couldn’t agree more about how terrific the Ruth Galloway character is. I like her very much.

    1. Tracy- I can’t say enough good things about Needle in a Haystack. And did I mention that it’s under 200 pages? It’s always refreshing to read something short as well as good. I hope you like Elly Griffiths too!

  2. Interesting list Rebecca. The Kellerman has just dropped through my letterbox (hooray!) and as I’m on my own this week-end I’m going to read it tomorrow evening, hopefully straight through.

    1. Sarah- The Kellerman us a pretty quick read. I hope you like it. I’m trying to decide what to read next, and I’m not sure what sounds appealing…

  3. Needle in a Haystack is an excellent choice Rebecca – terrific book – and you have reminded me I have Sweet Money here somewhere and really should read it immediately.

  4. Ruth Galloway is definitely one of my favourite crime characters. I’ve just read number five and am still entranced. I love that quirky narrative voice. Make sure you don’t miss the short she wrote for kindle, ‘Ruth’s First Christmas Tree’. It lies between numbers four and five. And just wait till you meet Kate.

Leave a Reply

