2013 Global Reading Challenge · England · review

The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths

crossing placesThe Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2009
Ruth Galloway book 1
source: library

I can’t remember where I first saw good reviews for the Ruth Galloway series by Elly Griffiths, but I’m now a fan.  What draws me in the most in a story are well-rounded characters.  I’m not really a sucker for atmosphere and setting, which this book has plenty of, unless I actually care about the characters involved.  Ruth Galloway is an academic archaelogist. whose single, overweight, a loner, smart and funny, which are the immediate draws.  DC Nelson calls in Ruth as an expert to investigate bones that may be linked to the ten year old disappearance of a young girl in the area. Ruth feels a connection between the ancient bones she finds and the disappearances of two girls in the area, and her empathy is the driving force of the story.

The desolate Saltmarsh where Ruth lives figures prominently in the story.  Griffiths goes into the history, the archaelogy, and the tide that figure prominently in the area (Ruth and her colleagues discovered a henge ten years before the action of this story takes place).  Also, this book makes me realize that I know just a tiny bit about Norse mythology.

Ruth and Nelson are the most interesting characters in this story, but I did enjoy reading about the archaelogical obsessions of a good segment of the other characters.  I imagine Nelson’s story will be fleshed out more further in the series.  I couldn’t help wondering why I run across so many druids in British books and tv series than in American ones, and I think they just call themselves pagans here.

I thought the first half of the book was stronger than the second, and I think I say that because I figured out who the criminal was pretty early on.  That being said, I expect the plotting in subsequent books to catch up with the characterizations.

Other positive reviews may be found at crimepieces, Reactions to Reading, and Petrona.  I also enjoyed this interview with Griffiths: At the Scene of the Crime.

6 thoughts on “The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths

  1. Rebecca – Welcome to the Elly Griffiths/Ruth Galloway Fan Club. 🙂 I’m very glad you liked this novel. I think the series is excellent and I do love the way the characters develop. I also appreciate the effective depictions of the settings and the atmosphere. It’s good to hear that you had a good reading experience.

  2. I haven’t read these books (yet) but so many people praise them. My husband likes them a lot (which means he has copies and I don’t have to go find them). so I will be reading this one soon.

  3. This is one of my favourites of the series Rebecca but I like them all to be honest. The Nelson/Ruth relationship is wonderful. As Margot says, welcome to the fan club.

Leave a Reply

