Crime Fiction Pick of the Month

Crime Fiction Pick of the Month- January 2013

I read four crime novels in January:

The Power of Three by Laura Lippman
Ratlines by Stuart Neville
The Return by Hakan Nesser
Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman

My favorite read of the month is, surprisingly, The Power of Three by Laura Lippman, a book I wasn’t madly in love with when I first finished it.  Lippman is so good at building a world and building characters, and I’ve found myself still thinking of the book in the last month.   I think I was initially disappointed with the book because I was disappointed with the characters who were responsible for the murders in the book.  I also really loved The Return by Hakan Nesser, but it’s not a surprising pick for me.  I tend to read lots of Swedish stuff.

Thanks to Kerrie at Mysteries in Paradise for hosting the Crime Fiction Pick of the Month Meme.

3 thoughts on “Crime Fiction Pick of the Month- January 2013”

  1. Rebecca – I have to agree with you that Lippman is highly skilled at building worlds and making the reader believe characters. I’m not surprised you kept thinking about The Power of Three even after you were finished with it.

  2. Margot- I’m really surprised by how much of the book I remember, which usually doesn’t happen. I also like Lippman because her books are very unlike other things I read.

Leave a Reply

