Favorites

2012 Year in Review

Best wishes for the new year to all of you who read my blog, and thanks for reading during my first full year of book blogging!  Thanks for broadening my reading horizons with all your comments and posts.

2012 was a light reading year for me in terms of numbers, but I found a number of authors I really love.  I read 56 books, including 34 crime novels.  I read books by authors from 13 countries, led by the United States (27) and Sweden (6).  I read slightly more books by female authors (29) than male (25), and I read two books by author pairs.

The authors I’m happy to have discovered this year are Åsa Larsson and Håkan Nesser. The longest book I finished was Game of Thrones.  Finally, the book that has stayed with me the longest is Borkmann’s Point.

For 2013 my reading and blogging resolutions are to review even more translated crime fiction and read authors from more countries than this year.  I didn’t read any African or Central and South American authors in 2012, and only one Asian author, so those are my areas of focus.

6 thoughts on “2012 Year in Review

  1. Rebecca – Perhaps you didn’t read a long list of books but I’m impressed with the variety of your reads. I’m glad you discovered some new authors to love too. I’ll be interested to see what you think of the crime fiction from Africa and South/Central America that you choose. May 2013 be a good year for you.

    1. Thanks, Vicki, and happy new year to you too! I haven’t kept track of how many translated books I read in a year, but I think I can find 12 to read over the course of the year.

Leave a Reply

